Mohaka rams

New Zealand

Map of New Zealand in the PacificMap showing New Zealand in the Pacific

      New Zealand is a small self-governing nation in the South Pacific Ocean.   It comprises three main islands – North, South and Stewart – and a number of smaller offshore island groups, some of which are Subantarctic.

      The country was first settled by the Polynesian Maori people around a thousand years ago, but was subsequently colonized by Britain in the mid-nineteenth century.

New Zealand – map showing outlying island groups
New Zealand and its outlying island groups

      New Zealand has no native livestock, but a wide range of species and breeds have been imported – most until recent decades were of British origin.   Farming is New Zealand's primary industry, and farm products are exported world-wide.

      Our rare livestock comprises principally older breeds that are now out of favour commercially, plus unique re-domesticated breeds that evolved in New Zealand from animals which became feral in the early farming period, both in mainland New Zealand and in outlying islands.

  Go to Rare Breeds Home Page 
See also Navigation Bar at top of this page

Rare Breeds Conservation Society of New Zealand

HTML5 icon